Upcycle…

… or what to do with old plastic bags – part 2

Last time I told you about my first attempt to do something useful with my old plastic bags. My second idea requires less social skills, but a tiny bit of creativity.

What you need: old plastic bags

What you need: old plastic bags

Et voilà!

I was baffled when I found out that you can iron two plastic bags together and that it would create a weird, hard, wax-like material you can even use for sewing. So I tried it out with one of my most creative friends who also found this interesting tutorial. We spent the entire night ironing and putting together great combinations. You don’t have to use plastic bags, you can also use plastic packaging. Before I started my plastic diet I always kept the packaging from the pappadams I bought in an Indian shop cause it looked so pretty. So now I could finally use it for something.

This is what it looks like if you iron two plastic bags together.

This is what it looks like if you iron two plastic bags together.

And another example...

And another example…

I guess you’re wondering what you can do with your ”plastic fabric”. Well, anything you can think of – Turn it into bookmarks, table sets, handbags, cosmetic bags, purses etc. I can’t wait to see the results. And if you try it out, too, let me know!

Lesson learned: With a bit of creativity useless plastic bags don’t seem that useless anymore.

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

