Plastic to go

Coffee, anyone?

I love my coffee even when it doesn't come with a delicious "Pasteis de Belem"

I love my coffee even when it doesn’t come with a delicious “Pasteis de Belem”

One of the things I’ve always enjoyed was my coffee to go. In the cold German winters it was probably one of my favourite guilty pleasures – meaning I was aware of how bad it was for the environment, but tried to ignore my bad conscience.

So I definitely feel better now that I don’t throw away empty cups anymore. My simple alternative: A thermos cup I had been thinking of using for ages (I was just too lazy to look for it in the chaos of my cellar room). I guess it’s probably not a 100% plastic-free (though it’s mainly made out of other materials), but as I didn’t have to buy a new one, it’s a good enough compromise for me – and it’s refillable after all, which is the most important thing.

If I were ever to buy another one, I would get it secondhand from a flee-market. But those things tend to last for ages, so I guess I don’t need another one any time soon.

Best thing about this: Filling up my thermos cup at home instead of buying a coffee to go on the way saves me loads of money.

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

