The toothy issue

Toothpaste and scrubs – Products worth being ditched and green alternatives

I’ve been paying attention to plastic packaging for quite a while now. But what still bugs me is the fact that there are so many different kinds of toothpaste and body or face scrubs that actually contain plastic. Quite often this is even used in ads and commercial by advertising “micro crystals” or similar stuff. These little particles are normally coloured, so they are relatively easy to spot in white toothpaste. When you check the list of ingredients at the back of the product and you read polyethylene glycol (PEG), then you know for sure you’ve got plastic in it. Another hint: Cosmetics and toiletries containing PEG are usually those sort of products that promise even whiter teeth and smoother skin. What I found interesting was the fact that I found more PEG in expensive brand products than in no name products.

Can you see the little blue micro particles?

Can you see the little blue micro particles?

So you wonder why I get so upset by finding plastic in toothpaste and cosmetics? Not only does it go right into your body (I have to admit I do not know what it does to the human body. But the fact that I don’t know makes me a bit careful with stuff in general), you also flush it down right into the water as micro plastic is so tiny that purification plants can’t get it out of the dirty water. The effects of this are yet to be fully discovered, which only leads to one conclusion for me: Go for eco-friendly toothpaste and scrubs that work with natural scrubbing agents. And raise awareness for this issue.

bogobrush – An eco-friendly toothbrush

This was a depressing start of this week’s post – but I found something to cheer you up. And as dental hygiene found its way into my blog already, let’s continue with that: When I went to the States a few weeks ago I finally learned about alternatives to plastic toothbrushes. The one I like the best is called bogobrush. This toothbrush is made of bamboo, its handle is 100% biodegradable and for every toothbrush you buy they give one to a person in need – a great idea in my opinion. On top of that (not that I would care that much) the brush looks pretty stylish. I admit, it’s still not a 100% plastic-free as the bristles are made of plastic, but it’s probably the best solution I have spotted so far. You just remove the bristles and bury the handle in your backyard (or someone else’s 🙂 ). At the moment bogobrush is only available online, but they ship the brushes from the States to Europe. The brushes cost 10 Dollars (+5 Euros for shipping).

Your opinion? Would they be an alternative for you?

2 comments

  1. I couldn’t have said it better! The thought that microplastics are showing up on every beach tested is depressing but truly worth explaining why. Most people just don’t know that there’s plastic in their toothpaste. Thanks for posting this, Eva.
    — Liesl at Trash Backwards

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

