Inspiring ideas from the www

Ever since I started paying attention to packaging, I’ve been using the internet as a source for ideas. At the beginning I focussed on finding ways to avoid packaging altogether. But when I realized I wouldn’t be able to live a life completely without packaging, I tried to find ways to do something useful with my trash rather than throw it out. So I started turning myself and my friends into fridge magnets (not kidding), I made re-usable napkins, tissues and tissue boxes out of fabric, I cut out “proper” cotton pads from old t-shirts and I even ironed plastic bags to turn them into “plastic bag fabric”. I also re-used old tins and jars for all kinds of different things – as food and drink containers, pen holders, vases or flower pots. Here is a little selection of what happened in my appartement:

Creativity is contagious – Homemade cordials and flavoured spirits made by my Aussie superhero husband.

I use pretty looking tins for all kinds of things - as pen holders for example. Works well with stuff from other countries :-)
I use pretty looking tins for all kinds of things – as pen holders for example. Works well with stuff from other countries 🙂
No more napkin waste - I used my sewing machine to make re-usable ones out of cotton. Just use an old paper napkin as a model and choose your fabric!

No more napkin waste – I used my sewing machine to make re-usable ones out of cotton. Just use an old paper napkin as a model and choose your fabric! It even looks nice when you’re crappy at sewing like me.

At some stage I felt like my creativity had reached its limit though – and that’s when I started to look up DIY blogs. I was amazed by how many ideas I would find and that you could basically turn everything into something useful. However, quite often I found myself clicking through lots of different blogs to find ideas I could put into action straight away.

And then I found Trash Backwards. I happened to stumble upon Liesl’s and Rebecca’s inspiring blog when I was googling DIY ideas and I instantly knew that this was exactly the thing I was looking for. They do not only write interesting posts about everyday environmental issues, they also created an app for “trashing backwards”, a name they couldn’t haven chosen better in my opinion. This app offers an incredibly big database full of recycling, upcycling and re-using ideas. You can just enter an item like “tin” for example and it comes up with a whole bunch of things you can do with it. And you can also submit ideas and “feed” the app.

When I saw this I got so excited that I spent an entire night browsing their database for random ideas. Then I went to bed and knew that the next few weeks will be all about turning old trash into new things. I will keep you updated and show you how I turn more trash into useful things! A little hint: It will involve more crown caps and old magazines! And a big thank you to Liesl and Rebecca from Trash Backwards, what you do is amazing!

2 comments

  1. Hi Eva-Melina. Thanks so much for the review of Trash Backwards! We’re so excited that you find our app useful and have taken the time to spread the word. I look forward to following your writings and collaborating on this journey of plastics reduction we’re taking together.

    1. And I’m looking forward to reading more of your ideas. I became a really big fan of Trash Backwards and I’m gonna try to put some of the ideas I saw on it into action. Will keep you updated with pictures of the results 🙂

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

