My ever growing pile of glass jars and bottles

Ever since I tried to avoid plastic packaging, I’ve been left with a whole bunch of glass jars and bottles (in fact my husband called it ”a jar mountain”). So what to do with them apart from using them as a Tupperware alternative? I’ve been working on several little projects. One of them was to make berry jam. I just washed strawberries, raspberries and blueberries, added some vanilla, blended a tiny little bit (I did that very carefully, so that it wouldn’t turn into soup!) and boiled it with jam sugar. If you want it to be less sweet, use some agave juice and agar-agar instead.

So here’s glass jar use no. 1:

P1080522

To make it look  prettier, you can decorate the jar with leftover fabric (Use old t-shirts, tops etc.). It makes a nice present for birthdays, dinner parties etc.

Glass jar re-use idea no.2 involved making grape jam (the recipe was the same as above, just with grapes instead of berries). My grape jam was basically ”leftover jam”, as I had to many grapes and they were about to go bad. Whenever fruit is about to go bad, I turn it into jam. Then it lasts for ages.

P1080523

Re-use no. 3: fill up old tomato passata bottles with homemade lemonade. For filling up three bottles (each was big enough for half a liter of lemonade), I squeezed three lemons, added six teaspoons of sugar and a lemon balm (alternatively you can add mint). You can just adjust this to your taste and make it sweeter, less sweet, more or less lemon-y. Here’s the result:

P1080520And this could go on forever… I will keep you updated what else I did with all my jars and bottles – there are still hundreds of ideas. Just one thing: Make sure you clean the jars and bottles thoroughly. Put them in boiling water for a minute and they will be sterile.

P.S. I would be happy to get more inspiration. So if you have an interesting idea, let me know.

6 comments

  1. I make my own gingerbeer! You should know it from UK and Downunder 😉 Its very easy to make, but you have to drink it very fast if you dont want to have gingerwine after some days! 🙂
    I’ll send you some recipes if you want to have them!
    Cheers!

  2. So, here the southafrican recipe I normally use:
    GRAN*S GINGER BEER:
    9 litres cold water
    100g whole ginger, bruised
    10ml (2 tsp) instant dried yeast
    15ml (1 Tbsp) citric or tartaric acid
    6x250ml (6 cups total) sugar
    ___________
    Mix all ingredients together and let them stand for 24 hours. Strain and bottle. Chill very well to prevent too much gas and alcohol forming! Serve ice cold!
    (recipe from “The Karoo cookbook” by Rose Willis)
    _________________________________

    I think its a bit too sweet so normally I reduce the sugar a little bit. And for me its not ginger-hot enough, so I use more fresh or dried ginger! There*s an other recipe in the book, I haven’t tried yet…
    I love it! Enjoy!

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

