Going raw with tabouleh style bruschetta

A project inspired by Leckerbox’s mittwochsbox # 20

It's summer time!

It’s summer time!

I normally post my articles on Thursday, but this week I have to make an exception due to an interesting challenge: ”going raw“, even if it is for just one meal. The idea came from Leckerbox, an inspiring food blog that encourages readers to participate and link to their own recipes. I can highly recommend it to all German speakers.

wpid-mittwochsbox_1-2013-01-16-10-006

So I got a little busy in my kitchen and made raw bread – a thing that took me about four and a half hours in the end. If the thought of raw bread (eating uncooked flour and water?) confuses you, don’t worry: I found it hard to imagine, too. Raw bread is not like the ordinary bread you might know, it’s more like a clever mix of seeds and nuts that tricks you into thinking it is ”real bread“. The reason for this is that the raw food movement focusses only on foods that aren’t cooked over 45 degrees. This is supposed to preserve all the really good stuff in food, like the enzymes. On top of that it’s basically impossible to eat processed food when you ”go raw“, a reason that made me think about giving raw food a try.

I was curious what it would be like to cook something raw because normally I like my meals hot and I’ve never been a fan of plain salads without exciting extras. Of course I’ve always eaten certain things raw, like apples, bananas or certain veggies. But this was always either as a part of a bigger, cooked meal or as a snack. I found it hard to think of a completely raw meal that wouldn’t bore me to death. After browsing through a lot of suddenly not so dull looking raw recipes, I was convinced: I’m gonna give this a try. So here’s the result: Tabouleh style bruschetta à la ingloriousplastics.

First I made the bread. I found a really useful recipe on Germany goes raw, which I modified to my needs. For English speakers this slightly different recipe by the rawtarian might also be helpful. This is what I used in my raw bread recipe (serving 4-6 people):

4 cups of ground almonds (you can ground them yourself or buy pre-ground almonds)

1 ½ cups of flaxseed

½ cup of cashews, finely chopped

10 black olives, chopped in halves

8 dried tomatoes

2 spring onions

pepper

salt

2 TS of lemon juice

1 tsp of soy sauce

2 TS Moroccan spice mix (alternatively curry powder)

2 TS of fresh parsley

2 TS of mint

I soaked the flaxseed in a bit of water (just enough for the flaxseed to soak up the water, don’t let it get too runny) for about 20 minutes. Then I mixed all the ingredients together with a blender, wrapped the dough in cling film and put them in the fridge for about 15 minutes. Then I took it out and cut it into 40 thin slices and put them on a baking tray covered with baking paper.

And for the next four hours you can relax...

And for the next four hours you can relax…

After that you’re supposed to dehydrate the bread for several hours in a so-called dehydrator. As I don’t have one, I followed germanygoesraw’s advice and put it in my oven. I turned the oven’s temperature to 50 degrees celsius and to make sure that it goes down to the required 45 degrees (see explanation in the first paragraph), I followed the blog’s advice once again and put a thick kitchen glove inbetween the oven and the oven door. That way the temperature gets lowered.

After that it was time to do something different, as the bread took about four hours in my oven. I turned it over from time to time, that was all I had to do. It’s kind of nice to know that with temperatures that low it’s hard to burn things. In the meantime I prepared my tabouleh style salad that was supposed to serve as a bruschetta topping. I took:

1 cucumber, chopped in triangles

3 big tomatoes, chopped in triangles

4 spring onions, chopped in rings

1 clove of garlic, chopped finely

4 TS of cashews, chopped finely

2 TS of pine nuts

the juice of 1 small lemon

4 TS of mint

6 TS of parsley

2 TS of high quality olive oil

salt

pepper

I roasted the pine nuts in the pan (no oil needed here) and then chopped and mixed the rest of the ingredients. Et voilà, my first raw dinner:

raw tabouleh style bruschetta

raw tabouleh style bruschetta

P1080559

And guess what? It tasted awesome and extremely fresh. And all the ingredients can be bought without any plastic packaging. A big thank you to Leckerbox for the inspiration! I’m sure I will participate in another mittwochsbox cooking day.

3 comments

  1. Hallo Eva,
    das freut mich sehr das du dabei bist. Es sieht sehr lecker aus, das mit dem Brot ist eine tolle Idee. Ich verstehe englische Texte zu fast 90%, aber es würde mir jetzt sehr schwer fallen auf Englisch zu Antworten. Daher bekommst du meine Antwort auf Deutsch. Jetzt sind wir quitt 😉
    Hab noch einen schönen Abend…
    Liebe Grüße
    Mone 🙂

    1. Eine deutsche Antwort ist auch immer gut 🙂 Vielen Dank noch einmal für die tolle Koch-Inspiration, ich bin bald in jedem Fall wieder dabei. Liebe Grüße

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

