What shall we do with the drunken plum jam?

Re-using old glass jars, Vol. 2- This is jam hot

I’m literally enjoying a  ”jam hot” day: Harvesting yellow plums (I got a message from two wonderful people who desperately wanted to get rid of them) and re-using some more of my old glass jars. By the end of this week they should all be gone eventually, hooray! The result of this activity is a drunken plum jam. The works:

1 kg of yellow plums

500 g of jam sugar (that always depends on the jam sugar you use, read the label)

1 TS of cinnamon

1 tsp of fresh vanilla

a few drops of squeezed lemon

2-3 cl (a small shot glass) of rum

First I washed the plums, removed the pips and cut them in halves. Then I blended everything, but I made sure it didn’t get to watery (Leave some chunky pieces, that makes the jam nicer). Then I added the sugar and the other ingredients except the rum and boiled everything for about four minutes. At the end I added the rum. I filled the jam in my old jars, closed the lids immediately and couldn’t wait for it to get cold.

homemade drunken plum jam. Mit Liebe gemacht = made with love

homemade drunken plum jam. Mit Liebe gemacht = made with love

So what shall we do with the drunken plum jam? I would say eat it! Prost, cheers, santé!

2 comments

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

