Five inspiring reads

A project inspired by OhhhMhhh’s “Foto-Frage-Freitag” (photo-question-Friday)

One of my favourite books is lying under a tree in my neighbour’s garden now. He doesn’t seem to be home and it looks like it’s about to rain. Instead of telling you that this is what I had actually planned for today: I wanted to show you five inspiring reads that mean a lot to me. As usual, I wanted to use my balcony as an improvised photography studio. I put the book (which, on top of it all, happens to be an edition from the 70s my mum read when she was young…) on the balcony railing, took a pic and then it fell….

... and there it is lying in the rain :-(

… and there it is lying in the rain 😦

Unless a miracle occurs, I can’t save George Orwell’s 1984, so I decided to make the best of my situation, try to think that there might be a higher cause related to the incident and stick to the original plan: presenting five inspiring reads, an idea OhhhMhhh came up with.

No.1: George Orwell’s Animal Farm

P1090391

One of the first books I read in English and an all-time classic that is always up to date.

No.2: William Burroughs’ Naked Lunch

P1090392

Extremely hard to read (I had to read it three times to get a rough idea…), especially if you’re used to more accessible Beat Generation reads like Kerouac’s On the road. However, Naked Lunch motivated me to read more experimental literature and don’t give up reading a book just because it seems hard.

No.3: Jonathan Safran Foer’s Eating Animals

P1090389

A non-preachy, well written account of what we put on our plates.

No.4: Lonely Planet’s Europe on a Shoestring

P1090388

I’ve had it for years and it went on so many trips with me + it needs no wi-fi.

And last but not least… the infamous No.5, George Orwell’s 1984:

P1090393

A must-read. An eye-opener. Now a wet collection of loose pages in my neighbour’s garden. Big bro’s watching them.

2 comments

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

