Happy plum overkill

From sweet cakes to spicy chutneys – Three ways of turning plums into deliciousness

Plums are taking over my kitchen. Thanks to my dad’s amazing gardening skills, I ended up with a bucket load of them.

Plums, anyone?

Plums, anyone?

As I can’t eat all that plum before it gets bad, I had to find some ways of preservation again. My dad came up with the first one. He sent me this yummy recipe for a yellow plum cake. I translated it into English for you. This is what you need:

750 g of flour

500 g of yoghurt (soy yoghurt works, too)

75 g of sugar for the dough

1-2 TS for the plum mash

a few drops of vegetable oil (sunflower for example)

two packets of dry yeast

1/2 tsp of cinnamon

juice of half a squeezed lemon

2 kg of yellow plums (purple plums work as well)

a pinch of salt

optional: 2-3 TS of apple juice

Mix flour, sugar, yeast and salt with a spoon. Then use your hands and knead the dough with your hands. Cover a baking tray with flour and roll the dough out on it. Then use a fork and put a few holes in it and let everything rest for about an hour.

pics: courtesy of my dad

pics: courtesy of my dad

In the meantime you can wash the plums, remove the stones and cut them in half. Once the dough got enough rest, you can put about 3/4 of the plum halves on it. Mix the other quarter with cinnamon, sugar and add some apple juice if you want to. Then put everything in a preheated oven (175 degrees celsius) on the middle rack and take it out after 25 min. And this it the pretty-looking result:

yellow plum cake

yellow plum cake

I love cake, but it’s just one of the things you can’t shouldn’t eat everyday. So I used some of my dad’s purple plums to make chutney and jam. The plum jam recipe doesn’t need any more explanation and is very similar to my drunken plum jam recipe:

I washed the plums, removed the stones and cut them in halves. For 2 kg of plums I used 1 kg of jam sugar (that always depends on the brand, check the label for that) and blended everything until the plums turned into a soft mash. Then I boiled the mash for about 3 minutes, added a TS of sugar and vanilla and filled everything in glass jars (re-use old jars!). Done!

Plum jam

Plum jam

As there is only so much jam my friends and I can eat, I had to find an alternative way of preservation. So I ended up making plum chutney. I used this German recipe for inspiration (Here’s a yummy English recipe), replaced the shallots with red onions and added some pimento, cloves (make sure you take them out before you fill the chutney in glasses) and a dried chilli. Then I filled up my old glass jars with the chutney. I used it as a party dip the same week.

Plum chutney

Got any other ideas what to do with plums? If you do, let me know and post a link in the comment section!

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

