Wednesday is for foodies

Vegan Wednesday #59 – My foodie day in pictures

As some of you probably noticed, Wednesday is foodie day on ingloriousplastics. Every week I either participate in Leckerbox’s MittwochsBox challenge (click here for my last post) or I contribute to Vegan Wednesday (See my last post here). This week I’m gonna give you an impression of the plant feast on my table – it’s Vegan Wednesday time again. If you want to know the idea behind this project, read my last post (I do have to admit I was too busy this week, so I my Wednesday actually took place last week) Otherwise sit back and get hungry!

whole-grain bread with homemade plum jam, hummus and corn salad

whole-grain bread with homemade plum jam, hummus and corn salad

berry=merry

berry=merry

The breakfast of winners: homemade drunken plum jam, hummus and corn salad on whole-grain bread and a handful of berries. I used a traditional hummus recipe from eat this!, but next time I want to try a parsley version which I found here.

rice paper rolls

rice paper rolls

For lunch I had rice paper rolls, one of my all-time favourites which I bring to almost every party. You want to make them at home? Just get rice paper from an asian grocer, soak each piece of rice paper in hot water for a few seconds, fill it with everything you like (use rice noodles as the main filling to help keep the rolls in shape) and enjoy! I normally use rice noodles, bean sprouts, cucumber, carrot, lettuce, mint, coriander, Thai basil and marinated tofu for the filling and serve it with a homemade peanut sauce. Just mix a tiny bit of hot water with 5 tablespoons of peanut butter, 1/2 dried chilli and a tablespoon of soy sauce.

Vegan Wednesday - Cake pops

In the afternoon I ate some of the crazy peanut butter lemon cake pops I made from old vegan lemon cake (I love this recipe) a little while ago. For that I had just mixed the cake with unsalted peanut butter and dipped it in melted non-dairy, dark chocolate and sprinkled some coconut over it. It’s a pretty weird combination, but it goes together better than you would think. And it’s a great way of using up old cakes or cookies that would otherwise be too dry. For a less experimental version just use non-dairy alternatives.

For dinner I was a bit lazy again and I had pasta with rocket pesto. I had made the pesto the day before. I blended 200 g of rocket with roasted pine nuts, one clove of garlic, a bit of olive oil and 2 TS of yeast flakes, a bit of sea salt and black pepper. It’s a great way to use up leftover rocket salad. I cut up a tomato, cooked wholemeal pasta and mixed everything with the pesto.

Pasta with homemade rocket pesto

Pasta with homemade rocket pesto

2 comments

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

