Under the Dome Cupcakes

A project inspired by foodsandeverything

TV show cupcake

This week I’m participating in an unusual blog challenge: baking a TV show themed vegan cupcake. I knew straight away I would choose Under the Dome as my current show favourite. Although participating in this challenge is just a fun activity for me, I wanted to include the recycling element in my post and figure out a way to come up with an eco-friendly cupcake decoration. So how did I combine that? I used espresso cups – they literally turned my little cakes into cupcakes. The lid of an old perfume bottle serves as a dome portraying Under the Dome. If you don’t know this show, check out the trailer.

So this is how I got started: I made a lemon lime blueberry cake that would serve as my cupcake base. All I had to do for that was mix the following ingredients:

220 g of brown sugar

300 g of flour

120 ml of sunflower oil

250 ml of soy milk

1 sachet of baking powder

zest of 1/2 small lemon

juice of 1/2 small lemon

1 TS of lime juice

I preheated the oven (I set mine to 180 degrees Celsius), filled the espresso cups with dough and baked everything for about 15 minutes. In the meantime I made the icing. I mixed icing sugar with a bit of lemon and lime juice, added a tiny bit of guava juice and half an avocado until you get a smooth paste. The avocado serves as a natural food coloring and I promise it doesn’t taste weird. I got the idea here. Make sure the paste doesn’t get too thin, otherwise it won’t dry properly.

avocado icing

avocado icing

no patty pans needed - I've got espresso cups

no patty pans needed – I’ve got espresso cups

I let the cupcakes cool down for about an hour and then I spread the icing over it and placed some blueberries on it in a circle. The blueberries go well with the lemon cake and on top of that they are supposed to portray the blue sky in the typical Under the Dome set up. I put my perfume lid in the middle (It’s not edible, it just serves as decoration!). Et voilà, I’ve got some crazy-ass Under the Dome Cupcakes. Time to turn on my favourite show.

Under the Dome cupcake with avocado icing and blueberries

Under the Dome cupcake with avocado icing and blueberries

Under the Dome cupcake

3 comments

  1. (Ich antworte dir mal fix auf deutsch :D)

    Meine liebe Eva, deine Cupcakes sehen einfach wundervoll aus 🙂 Die Idee mit dem Glas. Die Kuppel. Das Avocadotopping. Einfach genial! Auch wenn ich die Serie noch nicht gesehen hab, macht deine Interpretation schonmal richtig Lust drauf! Und so solls doch auch sein 🙂 Lieben lieben Dank, dass du mitmachst. Ich drück dir ganz doll die Daumen♥

    Liebe Grüße,
    Juli

    1. Hallo Juli,
      du kannst mir immer gern auf Deutsch antworten 🙂 Vielen Dank für das Kompliment. Die Zubereitung hat so viel Spaß gemacht, da hat sich die Teilnahme für mich schon gelohnt 🙂 Ganz liebe Grüße und bis bald, Eva

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

