Zucchini walnut carrot bread with saffron

A project inspired by World Bread Day

World Bread DayHappy World Bread Day, everyone! Coming from a country that offers a variety of more than 300 different kinds of bread I felt like I had to celebrate this date with you. I have to admit, I don’t bake bread on a very regular basis, as it’s never more than a ten minute walk to the nearest bakery in most German cities (and fortunately bread from the bakery is one of the few products you always get without plastic packaging). But when I read about the World Bread Day blog challenge (click here for all previous recipes) I knew I had to do something to honour my country’s most important staple.  So here’s my zucchini walnut carrot bread with saffron. I got the inspiration from two cake/muffin recipes on Tines vegane Backstube and Happy Herbivore I tried out a little while ago. I loosely based my bread on these recipes, but tried to make my dough a bit more savoury, modified some things and add a few more ingredients. I used:

1 medium-sized zucchini, shredded

1/2 medium-sized carrot, shredded

260 g of wholemeal spelt flour (alternatively normal wholemeal flour)

110 g of raw brown sugar

170 ml of canola oil

1 sachet of baking powder

1 tsp of lime juice

1 tsp of fresh ginger

1/2 tsp of nutmeg

1 tsp of cinnamon

4 TS of chopped walnut

a pinch of saffron

1 TS of soy milk

50 ml of water

1 tsp of sea salt

I preheated the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Then I mixed all the ingredients and filled the dough in a baking tray, put it in the oven and left it there for about 45 minutes. Et voilà, my contribution to World Bread Day:

zucchini walnut carrot bread with saffron

zucchini walnut carrot bread with saffron

The bread gets so fluffy that it actually reminds me a bit of carrot cake. But it still counts as bread, hey?

2 comments

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

