Glorious greens

A foodie day in pictures – Inspired by Vegan Wednesday #63

What do avocados, tomatoes, pumpkins and carrots have in common? Right… they all end up on my plate eventually. I love my greens. And my “reds”. And my “oranges”. And veggies in general. And food in general. So every Wednesday I want to show you a little collection of my glorious greens (plus at least one recipe). All recipes have one thing in common: They are plant-based and they involve as little plastic as possible. If you want to know where I get my plastic-free goodies, wait for my next update on avoiding plastic. So here’s my (last week’s) Wednesday in pictures:

chocolate banana blueberry muesli

chocolate banana blueberry muesli

I started the day with a chocolate banana blueberry muesli which kept me full for almost half of the day. It’s inspired by the vegan chef Attila Hildmann, but I modified the recipe and you can adapt it easily to your taste (or the contents of your kitchen cupboards). For the “base” just mix:

150 ml of oat or soy milk

a tsp of cocoa powder (the “real” cocoa for baking)

1/2 tsp of ground vanilla (alternatively vanilla sugar)

1/2 of cinnamon

11/2 TS of agave juice

1 TS of peanut butter

Then add oats, almonds, amaranth, sunflower seeds, flax seeds, raisins or whatever you prefer and let the muesli thicken up. Then chop a banana into slices and always put one layer of banana, one layer of muesli and one layer of blueberries on top of each other (This is of course optional and only serves one purpose: to make it look pretty) I usually garnish my muesli with a teaspoon of agave juice and peanuts or cashews. This muesli is a real power boost, it will keep you full and satisfied for hours.

Guacamole on corn cakes

Guacamole on corn cakes

That’s why I only had a late lunch: Guacamole on corn cakes. You can easily prepare it the night before and take it to the office (re-use an old glass jar and keep the corn cakes separate). For my Guacamole and corn cakes (serving 2) you need:

1 avocado

1 TS of lime juice

1 spring onion, chopped in little rings

1 tsp of roasted and ground cumin

1/2 tomato, chopped in little cubes

1 chili, chopped in little rings

a handful of coriander

salt

black pepper

4 corn cakes (alternatively rice cakes)

Just mix everything together and serve the guacamole on the corn cakes.

Red Thai curry on rice noodles

Red Thai curry on rice noodles

So you’re wondering what’s for dinner? As I love spicy food, I decided to go for a red Thai curry on rice noodles. That also helped me to use up some of the veggie leftovers in my fridge. I was a bit lazy and used pre-made vegan Thai curry paste (I usually get the shrimp and fish oil-free paste here), so there is no recipe this time. If you want to make your own paste, check out this recipe. I just fried some ginger, carrot, zucchini, aubergine, onion and mixed it with the curry paste and coconut milk. As I didn’t have any rice at home I used rice noodles.

Bon Appetit! Guten Appetit! I hope you got some inspiration for your next meals 🙂

One comment

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

