DIY washing powder

How I decided to say goodbye to chemical detergents and excess packaging

Ever since I started to go plastic-free I tried to find alternatives to conventional detergents. They do not almost always come in plastic bottles, they’re also full of harmful chemicals. For a long time I’ve been using eco-friendly washing powder now (unfortunately I still haven’t found any eco-friendly soap-nut shells that do not come in plastic) which comes in a recycling cardboard box. The only thing that really annoyed me was how much more I had to spend on detergents.

That’s when my friend Ashley send me a very useful recipe for a DIY washing powder. The only problem with this was that one of the main ingredients of it – borax – was banned from shops in the European Union a little while ago. So I tried to find alternatives and stumbled upon Kreativberg’s and Langsamerleben’s recipes. You get all the ingredients in cardboard packaging. I modified the recipes a little bit and I can tell you – it works absolutely fine for me and it saves me a lot of money. If you want to try it yourself, you just have to get:

150 g of curd soap (available at dm for example. The one I chose is 100% plant-based and does not contain EDTA)

125 g of baking soda (=Kaiser Natron, available at dm or Rewe)

100 g of washing soda (I bought mine at the health shop, but big supermarkets and pharmacies (or dm and Rossmann) should have it, too. Or make it yourself.)

20 drops of orange oil

P1090726

First I grated the curd soap. It takes a while and it can be a bit annoying, but try to consider it a good workout 🙂

After that all you have to do is mix the rest of the ingredients and fill them in a glass jar. I used Langsamerleben’s advice and filled an old (clean!) sock with rice. That keeps the powder dry.

For each load of washing I use 2-3 TS of my homemade washing powder. As I only spend 4,20 Euro on all the ingredients (and I’ve still got enough for about 5 jars of washing powder left) it makes it the cheapest detergent ever.

my new cheap-ass washing powder

my new cheap-ass washing powder

2 comments

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’ve got the same problem in my area, but so far my washing machine seems fine. For descaling my machine I use lemon acid about once a month. Maybe that’s what makes the difference!?

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

