Green Day

… literally. A project inspired by Vegan Wednesday #64

This post is not about music, but about the colour of my food: It happened to be all green (in both a metaphorical and literal way) So here’s a little collection of recipes for my Vegan Wednesday.

I started the day with a homemade cinnamon bun (Click here for the recipe) and a matcha latte. That was the first matcha latte I’ve ever had and being an absolute coffee lover don’t think I would ever give up my morning coffee ritual for it, but it’s definitely a nice alternative. For the latte I heated up 250 ml of almond milk and mixed it with 1 TS of green match powder, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of lemon juice and 1 TS of rice syrup.

cinnamon rollin' around on the balcony

cinnamon rollin’ around on the balcony

Matcha Latte

For lunch I had a bowl of Japanese spinach salad, which I had prepared the night before. If you want to be a green copycat (serving 2), use:

500 g of fresh spinach

1 clove of garlic, chopped as finely as possible

1 tsp of fresh grated ginger

1 tsp of brown unrefined sugar

3 TS of water

a few drops of sesame oil

2-3 TS of light soy sauce (add the sauce bit by bit and make sure it doesn’t get too salty)

1 TS of roasted sesame seeds

Wash the spinach in a drainer and pour boiling water over it (alternatively boil it in hot water for a few seconds). Let it cool down and squeeze all the water out of the spinach. In the meantime you can mix the rest of the ingredients. After that all you have to do is add the spinach. Itadakimasu!

Japanese spinach salad

Japanese spinach salad

As I still had some spinach left and I felt like I needed more Japanese food I made a veggie miso soup with the leftovers. I used:

3-4 TS of miso paste

1 liter of water

2 spring onions, chopped in rings

1 clove of garlic, chopped finely

1 tsp of ginger, grated

1 carrot, chopped in slices

1 small zucchini (courgette), chopped in slices

200 g of green basil tofu (otherwise use normal tofu)

a big handful of spinach

a big handful of bean sprouts

a few drops of sesame oil

1 TS of peanut oil (alternatively other vegetable oil)

salt (if needed)

I just fried up the onion, ginger, carrot and garlic, added the water and the miso paste and let everything boil until the carrot and the zucchini was soft enough (for me that was about 5 minutes, I like it crunchy 🙂 ). Then I put the rest of the ingredients in my soup.

Veggie miso soup

Veggie miso soup

And there goes a healthy green day! Hope you’re hungry now 🙂

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

