DIY jeans napkins

Upcycled Christmas Present #1

There are a lot of things you can buy for Christmas. These hot-water bottle boobies for example.

hot-water bottles seen in Lisbon

hot-water bottles seen in Lisbon

Keyholders for great lovers.

Keyholders seen in London

Keyholders seen in London

Or not so yummy-looking culinary goodies.

A selection of goodies in a souvenir shop in Edinburgh

A selection of (scary-looking) goodies in a souvenir shop in Edinburgh

And shops use even worse slogans to market their products.

Shop sign seen in Amsterdam

Shop sign seen in Amsterdam

So many choices… I guess it’s needless to say that most of the things in shops are not a real option for me as they come in plastic. The only way out of this madness for me: Making my own Christmas presents – and recycling some old stuff at the same time.

So I took out my scissors, my sewing machine, red string, an old pair of ripped jeans and my first project for this year is done: re-usable jeans napkins.

re-usable jeans napkin

re-usable jeans napkin

I cut out a square (I just used another napkin as a sample) and used a zigzag stitch to make the napkins last longer and look prettier. I decided to use red string as it’s a nice contrast to the gray fabric. You can either use a sewing machine or do it by hand. That’s really all it takes. What I won’t tell: who will find them under the Christmas tree…

Leave a comment - Verfasse einen Kommentar!

